

SWINDON & DISTRICT TENNIS LEAGUE

Minutes of Annual General Meeting, 24th November 2009, at The Bell, Ramsbury

Present:

Amelia Tester	Chair / Ramsbury	Keith Musson	Lechlade
Ralph Harding	President /Aldbourne	G Oliver	Lechlade
Bob Ingham	Secretary / Devizes	Anne Carroll	Marlborough
Dale Burr	Treasurer / AK	Hilda Moore	Marlborough
Roger Henry	Committee/Ramsbury	PJ Dickinson	Minety
David Lukens	Committee/WBTC	Andy Dickinson	Minety
Neil Allen	Committee / Swindon	S Rose	Purton
Malcolm Gayfer	Committee / Purton	Caroline Maclean	Purton
Lesley Ellis	Aldbourne	M Tester	Ramsbury
A Gordon	Burbage	Beryl Watts	Swindon
R McGowan	Burbage	Norman Sewell	Swindon
Alan Hunt	David Lloyd	Paul Casey	Swindon
Ash Smith	David Lloyd	H Halfhead	Wanborough
Bill Wells	Great Bedwyn	D Wilkins	Wanborough
		Jackie Wood	Wootton Bassett

- 1. **Apologies for Absence** were received from Highworth Tennis Club, Penny Clanchy, Dawn Hopkins
- 2. Minutes of last AGM were agreed.
- 3. Matters Arising: None
- 4. **Chair's Report:** Amelia announced her decision to stand down as Chair and from the committee. A vote of thanks was recorded to her for all of her hard work for the league.
- 5. Treasurer's Report: Attached
- 6. Match Secretary's Report was delivered.
- 7. Electronic Match Reporting There was a general discussion about this where there was broad consensus that this was a positive thing. Challenges were raised around being able to access the site more easily (only one person can access at a time) and the LTA league software system was raised. It was agreed that Malcolm and David would investigate this, and any other web based alternatives with a view to future recommendations.
- 8. **Inter League Challenge:** Wootton Bassett volunteered to host (subject to committee approval)
- 9. Announcement of Life Members There were no nominations
- 10. **Nominations for President** Ralph Harding was nominated by Amelia Tester (Chair) and seconded by Bob Ingham (Secretary/Devizes). No other nominations were made and Ralph was elected unanimously.
- 11. **Election of Officers** The following officers were elected unanimously, proposed David Lukens, seconded Malcolm Gayfer. A warm welcome to Andy and Alan as new

committee members. A vote of thanks was recorded to Roger Henry who has stood down from the committee.

Chair: David Lukens, Secretary: Bob Ingham, Treasurer: Dale Burr,

Match Secretary: Malcolm Gayfer

Committee: Neil Allen, Andrew Dickinson, Alan Hunt

12. Entry fees and deposits: were agreed as unchanged

13. Mini Tennis Donation. It was agreed to donate £200.

14. Rule Changes:

- 1. Rule 1j to add the line: In the event of a match being postponed, the match postponement form must be sent to the match secretary in the same timescale as the results sheet. Proposed Malcolm Gayfer, seconded by Dale Burr Agreed unanimously David to put the form on the league website
- 2. Rule 1k to read: Failure to comply with rule 1.j. will result in the offending club being fined £2.00 per week. The match secretary will notify any club secretary as soon as a second £2 fine is incurred. Proposed Malcolm Gayfer, seconded by Bob Ingham Agreed by 21 votes to 2. All proceeds raised will be donated to mini tennis.
- 3. Rule 1m to add the line: All courts should have LTA approved centre bands. Proposed David Lukens, seconded by Roger Henry *Agreed unanimously*
- 4. A new rule is proposed: Foot-faulting. Foot-faulting cannot be called by opponents. If the server persistently breaks any of these rules, the opposing team captain should draw this to the attention of the offender's team captain who should resolve it with the player. Proposed by Louise Crawford, seconded by Alan Hunt rejected by 8 votes to 6. All agreed that this was a good idea in principal, and that the committee would revise the code of conduct with updated advice from the LTA.
- 15. Any Other Business None.

Bob Ingham – League Secretary